Laurie Anderson’s Farewell to Lou Reed

Laurie Anderson’s Farewell to Lou Reed

This is simply elegant and exquisite.

I wish we could all approach death with such acceptance, fearlessness and wonder. 

As my own mother slowly becomes a walking ghost in this world, I witness the suffering that clinging to everything that “was” visits upon her.  We are helpless to ease her suffering, and she is nearing the end of this world in a great deal of psychic pain. 

No one can really know how they will feel when faced with old age, infirmity, chronic illness, or impending death.  Until they are.  Having had a couple of near death experiences, and losing some important people in my life, I have reflected on my own death perhaps more than most people.  I’m not sure.  I don’t wish to suffer now or then, so I accept with gratitude what comes each day.  The fact of my own death is inevitable; how I relate to it is optional. 

Because I will exit this life, part of my daily practice is meditating on death, on what it means to have a good death.  I think that means living without fear, in equanimity, and in gratitude for the wonder of it all. 

What do you think?

 

 

2 comments

  1. muckcreekkennels · November 19, 2013

    Wow. I always liked Lou. Now i love Laurie too.

Comments are closed.