In A Blink Of The Eye

20131129-234010.jpg

Willow is now five months old.

I have been sick for a week. All the photos this week have been taken with my iPad, and mostly in my bed. Dogs make great hot water bottles when you are shivering with a fever. Time goes by slowly when you’re sick but seeing Willow’s snapshots and how much her body has changed from teeny puppy to small dog, time also speeds by like a bullet. Or a terrier running through the garden with your sock in her mouth.

I haven’t been able to do much to find an outlet for their rambunctious spirits. Therefore, three pillow cases, two wool socks and one lovely cream coverlet have become victim to what looks suspiciously like puppy gnawing rather than damage done by gigantic lunar moths from another planet. I’m telling you this on the q.t. I can’t complain to my trainer because none of them are supposed to be on or in my bed. Ever.

Martha has slept on the bed for 16 years. I’m not about to take that away from her now because the Bed Thing is spoiling the other two. It’s come one, come all, I’m afraid. Gah.

We did have the most amazing murmuration of starlings this week I’ve ever witnessed. Thousands of them swooped around the fields of my farm and around the garden like a symphony of notes of a Rachmaninov concerto. Incredibly choreographed by some instinct, they went to ground, then swooshed up in formations in the air around the house and fields until they finally flew away. I managed only to catch a quick shot of part of their last swoop. Oh, for my Nikon, a wide lens and a perch on the ridge line of my roof.

20131130-000128.jpg

7 comments

  1. quirknjive · December 6, 2013

    Hope you are feeling better. By the way, I’m a big supporter of dogs in the bed. Life is short. They are wonderful and furry and warm. Why not? Take care!

  2. Mungai and the Goa Constrictor · December 3, 2013

    Sorry to hear you have been unwell. Glad you’re better now. The bed thing sounds so familiar. Mine slept on my bed for years, and I had four then, but it had to come to an end – I just couldn’t find any space for me! My JR was the sweetest, he squirmed right down to the bottom of the bed (inside you understand – eek!). Why he did not suffocate, I will never understand. But, he squiggled to the top every morning, non the worse for lack of air – bright as anything. So very Jack Russelly! Love the starlings πŸ™‚

    • Going To The Dogs · December 3, 2013

      I know, Amelia. They are all snugglers. That being said, I have my heart set on some gorgeous sheets in the near future but just thinking of spending that kind of money for what is essentially a large dog bed seems beyond extravagant, past decadent and well into insanity. I tell myself how much our local shelter could do with the money and my shame and coveting will make me donate it to them for Christmas. I will also donate my “holely” coverlet.

      • Mungai and the Goa Constrictor · December 3, 2013

        Ha, ha! – a large dog bed! The plus side, of course, being, they keep you lovely and warm in winter. But, face it, Lisa, you’re never going to have and keep those gorgeous sheets anyway – far too optimistic with JRs. πŸ™‚ Great idea to donate to the shelter. I would do the same, but, by the time mine have finished with anything, it would be more of an insult than a useful gift. One of them doesn’t chew, he shreds! And, unfortunately, the incoming mail gets the same treatment. Nothing is sacred! πŸ™‚

  3. Emy Will · November 30, 2013

    Thanks for visiting my blog, which led me to yours. Lovely – I look forward to more posts:)

    • Going To The Dogs · December 3, 2013

      Thank you. Isn’t it cool how it works? We go all over the world without leaving home πŸ™‚

      • Emy Will · December 10, 2013

        Absolutely! Nothing like a cup of tea while “travelling” πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.